Luka Modric Ends Ronaldo, Messi Dominance, Wins FIFA Best Player Award

Real Madric midfielder, Luka Modric has won this year FIFA best player of the award ahead of Liverpool player, Mohamed Salah and former club teammate and Portuguese captain Cristiano Ronaldo at the ceremony held in London on Monday night, after a voting process involving fans, national team coaches and captains and journalists from across the globe ended.
The indications suggest that Real Madrid midfielder Modric is the favourite, having also won the World Cup's Golden Ball and won UEFA's Player of the Year award.

The absence of Cristiano Ronaldo from the gala had served to further fuel the speculation that Modric will win the personal award for his stellar performance for his club Real Madrid and the Croatia national team.

With no Cristiano in London, the bets are on Luka Modric having won the Champions League with Real Madrid and reached the World Cup final with Croatia, only to be beaten despite his spectacular performances.

The Best Coach award was won by the French National team coach Didier Deschamps who had a strong competitor in fellow french and former Real Madrid coach Zinedine Zidane and Croatia coach Zlatko Dalic following World Cup victory at the 2018 FIFA World cup in Russia.

The best goalkeeper award was won by Real Madrid goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois, while Kasper Schmeichel and Hugo Lloris lose out.

In the women's category, Lyon duo Ada Hegerberg and Dzsenifer Marozsan could not end the dominance of Brazil player Orlando Pride's Marta for the crown,

In the final category, for best support went to the fans of Peru, while Chilean side Sebastican Carrera and then national team fans of Japan and Senegal together could not get award

But sensational Liverpool player Mohamed Salah beat Gareth Bale and Cristiano Ronaldo to the 2018 Puskas Award with his strike against Everton last December.

The FIFA accolade for the Liverpool star came as a surprise to many, with Gareth Bale heavily tipped to win the prize following his acrobatic overhead kick that gave Real Madrid the lead in last season's Champions League final.

The Egyptian also had strong competition from Cristiano Ronaldo for his impressive finish against current club Juventus in April, a goal that was awarded UEFA goal of the season.

FIFA Best 11

FIFA best 11 joined by Ronaldinho and holywood actor Idris Elba

FIFA have been choosing their best XI since 2005 and in this award, the only ones who have a voice and a vote (all and equally) are the players.

There is no one else that can participate.

By countries, and in default of what happens on Monday night, Spain dominate the ranking with 40 players present over the years (Iniesta, Ramos, Casillas and Xavi mainly), followed by Brazil with 27.

As for teams, Barcelona have 47 followed by Real Madrid with 37, leaving Milan and Juve way behind with 10.

With the Best FIFA Football Award ceremony having taken place in London on Monday night, several players were recognised for their contributions to the sport over the past year.

The Spanish stopper joined Real Madrid stars Sergio Ramos, Raphael Varane, Marcelo and Luka Modric in the world's top side, while Barcelona and Argentina superstar Lionel Messi was included as well.

Former Barca star defender Dani Alves, now at Paris Saint-Germain, made up the defensive line for the World's best as Chelsea pair N'Golo Kante and Eden Hazard were named among the best midfielders.

The Blues midfielders have been two of the most impressive players in the Premier League and they both had incredible campaigns in the World Cup, with the former going on to win the trophy with France while the latter won bronze with Belgium.

New Juventus star Cristiano Ronaldo has also unsurprisingly made it into the prestigious 11 after another great year in Europe with Madrid, and French prodigy Kylian Mbappe would join him after a World Cup-winning summer.

No comments:
Write comments

Contact us Adverts: 08160223638